July Jams

To be honest, July was a pretty rough one for our family. Lots of unplanned stuff (my wife’s father passed away, our car broke down on the way to travel to CA for his service, and the moving date for our house was moved back after we put in our notice for our apartment, so we we had to stay with family for a few weeks), but we made it out the other side. We are officially in our new home, teachers report this week to our new school district, the car situation has been re$olved, and I’ll be seeing live music this month (Rise Against, Descendents, and The Menzingers at Stubbs on the 13th, the day after our 15th anniversary and the week after my 37th birthday).

Anyways, for lots of reasons, I wasn’t following new music releases that closely last month, I’m borrowing a page from my buddy Dave over at Oklahoma Lefty and do a playlist post. These are some songs that I’ve been listening to, some old, some new.

Frank Black & the Catholics – “Horrible Day” (2003) I worked w/a dude named Tyson at a window making factory before going to college and he had really good taste in music. He burned me a copy of Show Me Your Tears and Jawbreaker’s Dear You and I owe a lot to him for that. This song is really good (I listened to it five times in a row while driving a few weeks ago) and after dealing w/a lot of worries this past month, was a good way to start the playlist

The Raging Nathans – “No Goodbye” (2021) I had heard of these guys before, but either the name or the record covers or a song or two that I heard never caught my ear, and I kinda dismissed them. Well, they have a new 7″ coming out (super bummed it’s already sold out) called Bring Me The Head Of Betsy DeVos, and as a teacher, that is a really good way to get my attention. This is the A-side and it’s great and I’m digging into their back catalogue as I write this.

Vacation – Color By Numbers (2021) Vacation has a new record coming out on Salinas Records this month called Existential Risks and Returns. I probably need to do a post just on Salinas Records, because after digging through their catalogue, they just have so much good music, and I’m stoked to hear the stuff they’re releasing. Lo-fi rock goodness here.

Descendents – I’m Shaky (2021) So I don’t think that there’s a standout standout track on 9th and Walnut, but there’s lots of short, good punk songs on here. This is one of them. Can’t wait to see these guys live.

Rocket From the Crypt – Pressure’s On (1993) So while I was in CA for my father-in-law’s service, we went to Moonlight Beach in Encinitas, which is very close to Lou’s Records, one of my very favorite places in the world. Nothing like picking up an old RFTC CD from Lou’s. Actually, my first RFTC CD I ever bought was one of these All Systems Go comps and I hated it so much that I didn’t listen to them for a long time after that. What an idiot.

The Hold Steady – The Smidge (2010) This was the other item I picked up at Lou’s – a 10th anniversary pressing of Heaven Is Whenever. I was actually at the record release show for this one, at the Belly Up in Solana Beach. I remember being bummed that they didn’t play “How a Resurrection Really Feels”, but still a good show, and a very underrated album IMO. I got into The Hold Steady after Stay Positive came out, so this was my first “new” record from them.

Limbeck – Let Me Come Home Demo (2017) I think that Frank Black & the Catholics was my gateway to Limbeck, who became my favorite band. While Hi, Everything’s Great is my all time favorite record, this is my all time favorite Limbeck song, off their self-titled album. The demo of it is my favorite rendition, which was added to this 10th year anniversary re-press. Definitely a great song to listen to while driving home from anywhere, especially the place you used to call home.

Unwritten Law – California Sky (1998) I probably haven’t listened to any album more times than UL’s self-titled, and most of those spins were when I was still in high school (which is to say, that I played it a ton). This was the record that made me fall in love w/punk (yes, I know that it’s more rock than punk, but that’s besides the point for now). Anyways, listening to this while being back in San Diego was almost too nostalgic for me.

Friend Of My Youth – Soft Sci-Fi (2019) I mentioned that I’m obsessed w/Salinas Records, and this is a record I came across that really blew me away. Really speaks to the part of me that loves Tigers Jaw. Probably wouldn’t have been into this when it came out, but I’m glad to enjoy it a few years later.

Good Riddance – A Credit To His Gender (1996) So earlier in the month, I thought that I had lost the thumb drive w/all my music on it, so while out running errands w/the kids, we stopped at a Half Price Books and I perused the music section and picked up their lone Good Riddance CD. GR and No Use For A Name were the bands that I transitioned to after getting into Unwritten Law, and GR has stuck with me the longest. Love this band, love this record.

Jimmy Eat World – A Praise Chorus (2001) I was gonna write about the 20th anniversary of Bleed American but it didn’t happen. While this wasn’t really even close to one of my favorite records in high school (it came out right before I started my senior year), it is one that has aged the best into adulthood. I mean, I still feel like skipping “The Middle” every time I hear it, but the rest is just great, especially this song.

Joe Strummer & the Mescaleros – Johnny Appleseed (2001) Global A Go-Go also turned 20 this year, and jeez, this was also a landmark listening for me. For whatever reason, the first time I heard a song from The Clash, I just wasn’t into it, and kinda wrote them off. Then a few years later, I came across this record and it literally blew my mind. I’m probably one of the few people who got INTO The Clash after listening to Joe’s work w/the Mescaleros first. Some of the songs get a little lengthy (especially on side B), but this song is a masterpiece. RIP Joe.

Anyways, nothing *too* new this month (besides the new/old Descendents, The Raging Nathans, and Vacation), but I’m excited to get August going. My birthday gift for myself is a new record player (I previously just used a cheap portable one, and it broke while we were packing stuff up for our move months ago) and while it’ll still be something pretty inexpensive, it’ll still be a step up from what I had before. Oh, also, the picture at the top was taken while walking around San Diego Bay w/Max because he was too scared to go in the fishing boat w/everyone else. Foster ended up catching his first fish, and Max eventually got up the courage to go out on the water when everybody came back in. Take care y’all.

Leave a comment